Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Retirement Notes #1

Since I retired six weeks ago, many people have asked How do you like retirement?

I have not been able to describe it because most of that time has been spent recovering from knee surgery. However, here are a few things I have noticed. 

  • Increase in dirty dishes. Of course, because I now eat all meals at home instead of grabbing breakfast and lunch at work.
  • Fewer miles driven in car. This was expected since my work commute was 52 miles round trip. But I didn’t think about the lower gas mileage I am now getting. Little jaunts around town reduce my previous highway driving miles/gallon. Oh well. 
  •  

  • Shopping on weekdays is less crowded and less stressful.  Doing errands, such as grocery shopping and banking, is so less crowded on a weekday than right after work or on a weekend. Thus takes less time too. 

I am sure more observations will be coming as I settle in to the glory days!

    Comments on: "Retirement Notes #1" (3)

    1. Sounds good to me! 🙂

    2. Are you taking advantage of senior discount days at the grocery store? It isn’t much, but every bit helps.

    Leave a Reply

