Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Bidding Time

Since retirement coincided with knee surgery, I don’t feel the thrill of retirement yet. Am stuck in recovery limbo with my knee getting better, but not enough to do much at this point. 

So I am bidding time by reading. Here’s the current breakdown. 

 
The Glassblower Trilogy by Petra Durst-Benning. Great read!!! Story of three sisters in the late 1800s in a small town in Germany. Glassblowing is everyone’s business. One sister ends up in America, one runs the glass business in Germany, and one becomes a creative glassblower. The trilogy occurs over many years and follows the sisters’ lives. Some great historical fiction. 

The Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy.  Wow, I am rereading this masterpiece and wondering why I waited so long to embrace Conroy’s Wingo family again. A superb book which now has me adding his other books to my reading list again. 

And since I can’t read all the time, I am making use of Netflix. 

 
NCIS. Yes, I have been watching the NCIS television show, starting at season 1. I am now on season 6 and loving it! Can’t decide who my favorite character is because they are all so perfect together. I will admit that Mark Harmon as Special Agent Leroy Jethro Gibbs does make my heart skip a beat at least once per episode. And Duckie brings back memories of Illya Kuryakin, the heartthrob from the 60s. Hopefully some of you will remember him. 

Gotta go read!

Comments on: "Bidding Time" (4)

  1. And Duckie brings back memories of Illya Kuryakin, the heartthrob from the 60s. Hopefully some of you will remember him.

    Girl, please. Don’t make me feel older than I am already. 😉 I had a mad crush on Illya when “The Man from UNCLE” was on NBC. In black and white, which made it feel even cooler. I couldn’t understand why my gf in fourth grade liked Napoleon Solo/Robert Vaughn better. Black turtleneck vs. suits, maybe, like Kinks vs. Beatles.

    Abby is my favorite character on NCIS. I like her goth/punk look combined with her manic perkiness. When the show is getting a little too intense/serious, it’s a relief when they shift to a scene featuring her.

    Hope you’re feeling better!

    • Oh yeah – Illya over Solo anyway! And I love Abby too. So smart and still quirky as ever. I love them all and my favorite changes with each scene.
      I am doing better than last week. How is your daughter doing after her knee surgery?

      • Daughter threw away the crutches two weeks ago and is now in physical therapy. (Well actually, they put her in a “knee class” where most of the other students are 60- and 70-something women recovering from knee replacement surgery. She couldn’t afford individual PT, which wasn’t covered by her ACA policy. 😦 ) I came home late last Friday and OMG the piles of mail and stuff to do. I’m really glad I was able to be with her while she recovered from surgery, however. Before I left, I cleaned her studio, stocked her pantry and refrigerator and put gas in her car after having it detailed. I miss her and San Diego, but I accomplished what I went there to do, which was to see her into recovery.

        Hope you’re sleeping well. That was the hardest thing: Daughter would wake up several times a night, partly because of the pain, partly because she got muscle cramps from having to keep her leg immobile. It also made it hard for me to sleep through the night. As a result, I’m very, very tired now. My first day back, I slept for 10 hours. I was a little ashamed at getting up so late—I had a ton of laundry to do, not to mention a checkbook to balance and a cat to check up on—but I figured I’d earned it. 🙂

        • Good for your daughter re: crutches. I totally agree with her about night time. That is also when I have the worst pain. It usually forces me to pop pain meds even though I don’t really want to. I start physical therapy next week. As of today, I have less than 90 degrees range of motion. Which makes it difficult to drive.
          At least you are now home and can maybe get caught up on sleep. Hope your landlord took good care of the cat while you were gone.

Leave a Reply

