Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Technically, you can go home again, but there are all sorts of obstacles and it takes twice as long. Let me explain. 

I live north of town. Tonight I was going to a little birthday get-together on the south end of town. It took me 30 minutes of driving time (during the evening commute) to get to the party restaurant. Pizza — yum!! Check out the calamari. Little baby squid with legs tentacles.   

Then there was this one with sopresetta, fresh basil, and mushrooms.  

After two hours of chit-chat and eating, it was time to leave. I left in plenty of time to be home before dark. Now it is decision time. Should I go to the east–which should be faster because I can jump on a highway for the last 8 miles. Or should I go to the west, which is all residential, but arterials. Or, I could go straight through the center of downtown. 

I came through the east route, so it should be faster as the evening commute is over. 

Wrong!! First there is a train blocking the road. Complete standstill. Not a wheel is moving. No problem. I will just turn left and go a mile or so until I can go under the overpass. 

I do that, then there is a second train. At least this one is moving. No prob. I’ll just turn left again and skirt the choo-choo.  Are you kidding me!!  A third train blocking the road!! So now I am basically on the straight route home, but driving through a busy college campus. 

Finally, I think all is good when the road ahead is blocked by a fire truck that is backing into their stationhouse. Only a very short wait for that delay. 

I finally get home, 50 minutes after I left. It should have taken me maybe 25 minutes; it took me 30 minutes to get there during rush hour traffic. 

Thus I believe there is a conspiracy of you can’t go home again. The one positive note was that I went to the restroom before I left. Thank goodness!!

Comments on: "You Can’t Go Home Again" (1)

  1. LOL! Well, at least you got home okay. And that pizza with calamari would have been worth the detour. But my commute to work is like that: I have to go through at least two railroad crossings in a warehouse/truck depot area. While most days there are no trains and I can race through with no problem, there have been mornings where a train sloooowly chugged past the gate, or worse, just stopped right there while a growing line of cars formed. Then I have to zig and zag to find a route around the tracks. Just because of this I wish I lived closer to work!

Leave a Reply

