Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Bagpipes and Embroidery

Saturday was a hectic day. There was a craft fair at a local high school. Daughter and I went because we were hoping to find a corner nightstand. 

Much to our joy, we were witness to a mini-concert by the school’s bagpipe band and dancers. The school mascot is a highlander. I went to that school a million years ago and loved wearing a kilt as a band uniform. As a woodwind player, I started to learn to play the chanter. And I also started to learn the sword dance as a Scottish dancer. Unfortunately I had to drop both because it interfered with all my other high school classes and activities. 

Here is a brief video of part of their performance. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Plh9pcka0yI

We ended up finding all sorts of goodies, from homemade caramels, delicious scones from the Scone Ranger, delightful teas, and this cute little artsy piece for Daughter.   

We found a little nightstand too. It’s not a corner piece, but it will work well. I am refinishing the nightstand so will show pictures when I am done. 

My embroidery machine has been calling me. I was supervised by Miko. 

 

This time I was embroidering fruit on dish towels. They came out great!  

   

It was a busy Saturday, but I totally relaxed on Sunday. I am now rested and ready to tackle the work week. 

Comments on: "Bagpipes and Embroidery" (2)

  1. Yup, local craft fairs are the best! My daughter went back on Sunday to get a little drawer piece that we forgot about on Saturday. And they dropped the price 25%.
    How can you beat that??!!??

  2. cardamone5 said:

    I love it when you go to the high school craft fairs as you come home with the greatest treasures! Can’t wait to see a pic of the cabinet. I love the embroidery. It looks great. Thanks for sharing.

    Fondly,
    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

