Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Moving Day

My daughter is moving from her apartment with crappy neighbors to an apartment in a nicer and safer area. Today she rented a u-haul truck and got a friend to help her move the big stuff. 

I was the guard. She was afraid to leave anything in the truck while moving stuff from her old house.  Crappy neighbors, remember?

We started at 9:00 this morning. The first load was dressers, book shelf, end tables, and recliner chair. The second load was love seat, bed mattress, and some boxes.   At this point it is about 11:30 so we decided to have lunch. I treated daughter and her friend for helping her move. 

Daughter needed stuff for her apartment. You know, shower curtain, garbage can, cleaning supplies, bath rug, microwave, toaster, etc. etc. etc. so off we went to pick up that stuff. 

She then went back to her old place to load up the truck with boxes and bins. I went to her new place to start the organizing.   I put the legs on the couch and moved it into place. Moved the end tables too. Put the back on the recliner and screwed that in. Moved the recliner to its designated location.  Moved the bookshelf and added the shelving. Put together the bedframe and got the mattress in place. I added the shower rings to the shower rod, and then attached a liner and a fabric shower curtain.  Daughter came home and we made her bed. 

By now it is 4:00 and I am exhausted. So we called it a day. I will get some pictures of the finished space when I get over there next. 

Great space for an apartment for one person. Especially if Daughter is that one person. 

I need a nap! 

Comments on: "Moving Day" (4)

  1. Hope you weren’t too sore today. The last time I helped my daughter move, I couldn’t stand up the next morning. Something about moving boxes of books up and down stairs….

    • Stairs are not my friend. I can only do one step at a time, basically dragging my left leg. So I was the guard, organizer, and put-it-together person. Surprised that I was sore and covered in bruises. I am getting too old for this stuff!

  2. You must be really glad to have her move to a better area!

    • I am very glad she is in a safer place. And she is extremely excited about it too. Of course, I have to point out that I warned her about her old location before she moved in. But she wouldn’t listen. I believe that qualifies me to say “I told you so!”

Leave a Reply

