Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

It is with a heavy heart that I write this post. Ellie, my beloved Siamese cat, has passed over the Rainbow Bridge.
IMG_8783.JPG
Ellie had been struggling with kidney and urinary tract issues since June 2014. She has been poked, prodded, x-rayed, ultra-sounded, and put on a very specific diet. On Sunday, she was lethargic and did not eat or drink. She stayed curled up on the chair the entire day.
IMG_8881.JPG
I took her to the vet first thing Monday morning. Unfortunately her kidneys had shut down. This was a very fast progression. In 5 weeks she went from 5.6 pounds to a mere 4.3 pounds. Her kidney function numbers were off the charts.
IMG_6146.PNG
I was not prepared to say goodbye. So the vet pumped her full of fluids and I took her home for one last night of love and cuddles. My daughter was able to stop by to also say goodbye. The other kitties knew she was sick. Sunni groomed her in front of the fireplace.
IMG_8904.JPG
I put her warming disk in bed with me and we cuddled all night. Finally she gave me little purr.
IMG_8937.JPG
At one point during the night, she crawled under the bed and wouldn’t come out. Miko kept watch over her until she came back to bed.

She was calm going to the vet. Although as I took her out of the car, she gave me a hefty Siamese yowl. I think she was saying goodbye. Her passing was gentle as I held her and purred to her.
IMG_8947.JPG
Ellie was my shadow for 3 years and 1 month. She was always by my side or on my lap. Miko will also miss her intensely.
IMG_8555.JPG
Ellie’s first mom, Alyssa, and I will miss this special petite chat.

Comments on: "Fare Thee Well My Shadow" (18)

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  2. Oh no! This is so sad 😦 so sorry to hear. love from us ❤

  3. It’s so hard to let go when you know the end has come for a beloved animal companion. I’m glad you and your daughter got to spend one last day with Ellie, though I’m sure it was difficult and sad.

    ((Hugs)) for you and your other furbabies. Be kind to yourself in the days ahead.

  4. Thank you Sandy for your endless love for Ellie, you gave her a great life. May the happy thoughts of her stay with you for a long time. Much love.

  5. Sorry for your loss…Always so hard to say goodby to those we love…I am glad that you got to cuddle and say goodby.

  6. stellastarstruck said:

    I’m so sorry. I can imagine how much you miss her.

    My family had a Siamese cat when I was young and he was amazing. I still miss him.

  7. Lord, how I know that hurts. I’m very sorry for your loss. She was a gorgeous cat.

  8. Awwww I’m so sorry. May she rest in peace. what a pretty kitty.

  9. I’m so sorry for your loss. It’s always always so hard. But, those last cuddles and purrs and yowl will help.
    I remember every moment of my Calli’s last hours. The look on her face when I called my daughter to say “goodbye” to her.

    So so sweet that Sunni said goodbye, too.

    Hugs.

Leave a Reply

