Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Embroidery Fiasco

Last Friday I went to a sewing class. I had several cute machine embroidery designs that I wanted to stitch onto onesies.

My first stitch out was horrible. Because the onesie is so small, I reduced the design size so it would fit. Now the design is 1.5 inches x 1.5 inches. Kinda small. Unfortunately I forgot to reduce the stitch density. When done, it was so thick that I broke a needle! Here it is in all its ugliness.
IMG_8863.JPG
So then I tried a different design. Still small on the onesie. This time I remembered to reduce the stitch density. It came out a bit better, but I am still not thrilled with the end result.
IMG_8868-0.JPG
I was so disappointed in the results that I waited one week before I even unpacked my machine. So tonight I tried it again. I stitched the first design at its regular size (3.5 inches x 3.5 inches). It came out much better.
IMG_8864-0.JPG
I am not overly thrilled about it though. It is still quite bulky and not filled in and as clean looking as the bunny design I did earlier.
I think that is because of all the overstitching. So I am going to try a few more, but use designs from a different company. The bunny design was from company A. The other two designs that I am unhappy with are from company F. I hope I have better luck with a different design company.

Stay tuned!

Comments on: "Embroidery Fiasco" (9)

  1. […] had a rough time the other day with my embroidery, I decided to go back to the drawing […]

  2. all far superior to anything I could do but, yeah, that last is definitely the best of the 3.

  3. I’m guessing the class’ instructor is having you start with onesies because they’re small and relatively inexpensive? (And all babies need onesies, so they’re great shower gifts!) It would have been a lot easier to begin with a kid’s t-shirt, since they’re larger and easier to work with, but that’s just my opinion.

    Anyway, don’t give up! These beginning projects seldom come out the way you’d like them to. You might want to try a t-shirt at home just for fun. with a design that you don’t have to fuss with. 🙂

    • I got to choose what i wanted to stitch on. I had a 0-3 month size. The bigger sizes would have been better. I am also stutching on diapers to make burp cloths. So i think if i get better designs I can succeed. Still a frustrating learning process. And i stitched a mess on that really cute brown onesie. Dang!

  4. I learn the most from massive messes

  5. Hang in there! I’m on a very steep learning curve myself and its frustrating. We’ll all get it figured out in time! 😁

Leave a Reply

