Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Movie Day

I met some friends downtown today for our Movie Sunday. We are trying to all get together at least once a month for a movie and a long lunch for chit-chat.

Today, we saw The Imitation Game with Sherlock himself, Benedict Cumberbatch (sheesh, did I spell it correctly?). The movie is based on the true story of Alan Turing and how he and a small group of mathematicians cracked the Nazi enigma code during World War II. Historians say that cracking that code let to winning the war some two years early and saving about 41 million lives.

The following is an image of the real Alan Turing (left) and Benedict Cumberbatch as Turing (right). The resemblance alone should make you want to see the movie.
IMG_8652.JPG
The movie captured my attention. Unfortunately there is a disturbing ending. I am now interested in Alan Turing’s full story and am seeking a good book to read about him.

On a lighter note, I had to chuckle when I went to the restroom at the movie theater. The following sign was on a stall door.
IMG_8647.JPG
I heard a little girl, maybe 10 years old, ask what did that mean. Have I now gotten so old that a well-know expression (at least to me) has lost its meaning, memories, and history? What will today’s generation have as something similar?

Leave a Reply

