Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Snow and Toes

Friday morning I had to be at work earlier than normal. I got up and was ready to leave on time when I noticed about 3 inches of snow was covering everything.

Because I am a bit OCD about having a clean and shoveled driveway, I started to shovel the evil whiteness. Unfortunately, the snow was wet and heavy, thus making shoveling a bit more of a chore. However, I had to leave at a certain time in order to get to work on time and I did not have time to shovel the entire 2-car driveway. I knew if I drove on the snow, it would be exceedingly difficult to shovel later that day.

So this was my compromise.
IMG_8617.JPG
Call it the lazy man shovel plan or whatever. It worked though. I got to work on time. And when I got home at the end of the day, there was only a small area that I had to shovel that was packed snow/ice. But that little bit was a bitch to clear, so I patted myself on the back for my earlier compromise.

On Saturday, guess what Daughter and I did?
IMG_8625.JPG
Yup, a quick pedicure. I have an appointment with my rheumatologist in a few days. I try to always get a pedicure so he isn’t grossed out when he checks my ankle joints. Ugly toes, but clever polish job, don’t you think?
IMG_8628.JPG

Comments on: "Snow and Toes" (2)

  1. BRRR! Take care of those lovely toes and don’t let them get frostbite! We used to live on a corner lot in Minnesota, so we had to shovel two sidewalks during the winter. My husband refused to buy a snowblower, claiming it was more trouble than it was worth (‘the motor’s always breaking down!’ ‘they get clogged when the snow is too heavy!’ ‘where are we going to store it in the spring?’), so guess who had to shovel the snow after a big storm? The city fined homeowners for not clearing their sidewalks within 24 hours of a snowfall, so it was especially important to get out there and push that #%$@! shovel. The city snowplows would often push snow back over the sidewalk and undo all my work, however. I was frankly glad when we moved to the ‘burbs and the only thing we had to worry about was our driveway—which was 50 feet long. I insisted on hiring a snowplow service after the first blizzard. Happy memories! (Not.)

    • Guess I am semi-lucky then. No sidewalk. And I do have a snowblower. But as you mentioned, it gets plugged up too easily when the snow is wet and heavy. I don’t mind shoveling an inch or two as long as it is light and fluffy. OMG – the Seattle Seahawks just moved ahead of the Packers!!! Hope it stays that way for the last 80 seconds.

Leave a Reply

