Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

December 27 is National Fruitcake Day. You are probably thinking “yuck.” I bet you have never had my fruitcake.

Get those thoughts of candied fruit out of your mind. Don’t even think of hard as a rock. My fruitcake is delicious!

I do not use any candied fruit, except for a bit of candied ginger. Otherwise it is golden raisins, dark raisins, currants, dates, prunes, figs, dried apricots, walnuts, pecans, and a fair amount of brandy.
IMG_8471.JPG
The mixture soaks in the brandy.
IMG_8473.JPG
Then you mix the batter separately. Eight eggs and a pound of butter! And sugar, molasses and flour. Here it is with the batter being mixed in.
IMG_8493.JPG
Instead of making big loaves, I make baby loaves and cupcake-size fruitcakes. This requires more work, but then I can share with more people.
IMG_8497.JPG
IMG_8503.JPG
Here’s one cut open. Look at all the nut pieces and the chunk of fig.
IMG_8519.JPG
I wrap each one individually in aluminum foil. Those that I plan to freeze, I wrap in Saran Wrap and then aluminum foil. Five dozen cupcake-size fruitcakes and 18 baby loaves.
IMG_8523.JPG
As you can tell, I love my fruitcake so don’t badmouth fruitcake unless you have at least tried mine.

Comments on: "Nom Nom — National Fruitcake Day" (2)

  1. I did eat two of your fruitcakes….yum yum…and you are so right about them being soooo good.

Leave a Reply

