Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

La partie

On Sunday, I had eight people over for dinner. It started out as a small dinner for four, but as things often do, it grew into an event for nine.

First of all, I had to actually do a major declutter of the kitchen/dining room. The kitchen island had not been seen for months. And the dining room table still had stuff on it from the pantry reorg one year ago. (no need to make any comments). Here’s the table after the declutter and with an old table cloth on it to keep the cats off (ha).
IMG_8394.JPG
The menu included an Italian porchetta (cooked in the crock pot), potatoes and baby carrots (also done in the crock pot), green beans, dairy-free baked ziti, spring greens with blueberries, feta cheese crumbles, and lemon balsamic vinegrette. Dessert was peach-huckleberry pie ala-mode and chocolate peppermint cupcakes.

And let’s not forget the requisite wine. A guest brought a superb bottle of red wine. I so loved this wine, I drank most of it. It is now on my xmas list (good thing my daughter is over 21).
IMG_8401-0.JPG
Daughter came by earlier in the day to help out. It was nice to have a bit of assistance. We used the xmas dishes that usually sit in the cupboard.
IMG_8413-0.JPG
Because I was so busy getting ready and then very involved with everyone during the party, I failed to take pictures. However, I did grab one of the aftermath. Don’t bother counting wine bottles; not all are visible.
IMG_8404-0.JPG
I have a refrigerator full of leftovers. We had appetizers, but forgot to put one of them out. Cucumber slices with hummus. Think I will munch on these tomorrow. Aren’t they cute?
IMG_8412.JPG
All-in-all, I thought it was a great little party. I know that I had a wonderful time! Oh yeah – and what an excellent reason to clean up the house.

Leave a Reply

