Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Holiday Week Ending

I had the entire Thanksgiving week off. But I was so busy that I now feel as if I need a vacation to rest up from my vacation. Here’s a brief summary.

Monday. Went shopping at Trader Joes. Since this is across town from where I live, it took a couple of hours. Got some great food, such as frozen meals for my daughter, beautiful flowers for my mom, and the delicious Candy Cane Joe-Joe’s. These are the best cookies!
IMG_8290.JPG
Tuesday. Grocery shopping for Thanksgiving dinner. The stores were a bit crowded. I was upset that I could not find reasonably priced fresh green beans. I ended up paying over $3/lb. for pre-packaged beans. But the ends were already snipped off so I guess I shouldn’t complain.

Wednesday. I went to the doctor for a cortisone shot in my knee. It has been quite painful, even waking me up at night if I turn over or a cat steps on my knee. It is now feeling better, but not as good as I want/need it to be. (Pix is not my knee.)
IMG_8273.PNG
Thursday. I got up early and started the beans cooking. Then it was time to make the dressing. I added orange-flavored cranberries; it really added a little zing to the dressing. And then it was fruit salad with bananas, strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, blueberries, canned fruit cocktail (since I didn’t have fresh peaches or pears) and apple chunks. Mix with a little whip cream and it’s a family staple. This year it was purple because the blackberries bled a bit.

Friday. Daughter ran a half marathon, but needed a ride back to her car at the starting place. So that took some time to do that. Then we hit PetSmart to buy cat litter at a very very cheap price. Several packages arrived. One was a new bed/scratching post for the kitties. I am getting them all new beds in an effort to keep them off the couch and chairs. Yes, those are all cat toys behind the new bed. Don’t judge me.
IMG_8282.JPG
Saturday. I baked a little turkey breast so I could have leftover turkey. New recipe of cooking it in the crock pot with cranberries, orange juice, and Liptons onion soup. Excellent turkey!! Daughter and I then watched a movie or two.

Sunday. Made turkey curry with some of the leftover turkey; added the turkey in a separate batch as Daughter is vegetarian. We watched Gravity while eating dinner. Making chocolate chip banana bread for Daughter. Very yummy, but had problems getting out of the mini-loaf pan. Oh well.
IMG_8299.JPG
Now it is Sunday night. Daughter has packed up and gone back to her house. I was lucky to have her spend 4 nights and 4 days. It was a lovely time, busy and a bit relaxing too. But I have to go to bed now so I can get up at the crack of dawn and go to work. ARG!!
IMG_8300.PNG

Comments on: "Holiday Week Ending" (3)

  1. was the crockpot turkey cooked first or in the crockpot?
    wish i’d been there to crash all of your meals.
    i now feel really stupid for not thinking to check PetSmart on Black Friday. oh well. there’s probably enough spilled cat litter in the trunk of my car to fill another box.

    if you’re looking for more cat castles, I recommend CatTreeFactory.com

    • Uncooked turkey placed in crockpot. It was so yummy and easy. Cat Tree Factory — thanks for the info! They look great.

  2. Amen to needing a break after the Thanksgiving break! I was sick most of the week, so I spent most of this weekend catching up on errands and stuff I couldn’t do while I was down. Now I feel better…just in time to return to work. Hope your week goes well!

Leave a Reply

