Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

I Love Craft Fairs!

Yesterday I went to a craft fair at my daughter’s old high school. It cost $1 to get in and the money went to support the band. As an ex-high school band member, this was a laudable cause. Here are some of the treasures I found.

A cat bed made from an old barbeque lid. The feet are old door knobs. Miko has assumed ownership.
IMG_8203.JPG
When Miko left for a short bio break, Sunni took over. I think she was just keeping it warm for Miko.
IMG_8206.JPG
Then I found this unusual bracelet made with spoons (or maybe forks). Very cute; ignore my banged up hand.
IMG_8207.JPG
I spotted a little table topper made of braided fabric. I wanted something to put on top of the little cabinet I had refinished.
IMG_8208.JPG
And how about this little fabric bowl!
IMG_8214.JPG
This beautiful seam ripper caught my eye.
IMG_8221.JPG
And because winter is here and one can never have too many mittens, I found these mittens made from recycled sweaters. They are soft and thick, and extend past the wrist. My hands are already thanking me.
IMG_8220.JPG
My hands get quite dry and chapped in the winter. And if you travel, you have to put any hand lotion in the plastic bag. Here’s a solution: use a solid hand lotion! Bonus: it smells good!
IMG_8219.JPG
How about some flavored balsamic vinegrette ? The Meyer lemon mango was exquisite, and since I love blood orange, I had to get the strawberry blood orange. I am salivating as I write this.
IMG_8222.JPG
A local independent bakery was at the craft fair. Since I am making potato soup today, a little multigrain bread is required.
IMG_8223.JPG
And how cute is this?
IMG_8225.JPG
I have many more treasures, but they are gifts, so I don’t want to spoil the surprise. I must brag that, with one exception, my xmas shopping is now complete. Don’t hate me, applaud my efforts. This could be the one thing I don’t procrastinate getting done.

Comments on: "I Love Craft Fairs!" (5)

  1. wow – you got some great items. wish i’d been there!

  2. That cat bed is adorable! I think any cat would be envious of Miko and Sunni.

    I love craft fairs. I should shop at them more often, but I’m so busy on Saturday afternoons, I forget to stop by and check out the goods. At a craft fair for a local community group, I did score a really cute gift for the grandson (I just hope he doesn’t outgrow it before Christmas) and something for his mom. I wish I had picked up something for the other kids, but I ran out of money—the things on sale were a little pricey—and I know my son would rather have something from REI or a sporting goods store. So I still have some holiday shopping to do. Good for you for getting all of your gifts out of the way before Thanksgiving!

    • My friend that I often go to craft fairs with dickers with the owners. She almost always gets a lower price. She got me almost 20%off of the cat bed. I am not much of a negotiator. My daughter is like your son; something from REI. Late in the summer I bought her early xmas gifts of a tent and sleeping bag from REI. Screaming deals so I had to go with them. So her xmas will be gift-lite because she already has her goodies. It’s easy to pick up little inexpensive stuff at the craft fairs.

  3. cardamone5 said:

    Boy, I wish some of these items were featured at a Ladies Shopping Night I attended on Thursday. I would have stocked up, as you obviously did, and felt good about supporting women in my community. Instead, I bought nothing, except spending $5 to get in, and got a free make-over that I washed off as soon as I got home, not because it was bad, but because it was time for bed. There was handmade jewelry there, but nothing like your spoon/fork bracelet and no solid lotions or recycled mittens. And that cat bed is awesome.

    Fondly,
    Elizabeth

    • The area i live in has a bazillion craft shows before xmas. And superb quality items. Majority of them are all local and some of the proceeds support worthy causes. I rarely do xmas shopping in stores any more. I am indeed fortunate. And the cats LUV the bed!

Leave a Reply

