Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

The Big Read – DONE

Whew, I just finished the big read, Ken Follett’s Century Trilogy. It took almost 8 weeks to finish all three books. (And I read a small book in the middle of the big read because — well, because. )
IMG_8155.PNG
Reading the third book, Edge of Eternity, brought back so many memories.

  • Cuban missile crisis. I was in grade school and remember the air siren drills.
  • Kennedy assassination. Middle school ran the radio over the school intercom. I remember watching live TV news and seeing Lee Harvey Oswald shot. And the sad sad funeral.
  • Vietnam. So many high school friends and family served in Vietnam. When would it end?
  • Dr. Martin Luther King assassination when I was in high school.
  • Bobby Kennedy assassination shortly after that, in June 1968. What was happening?
  • President Richard Nixon. Agnew, Watergate, CREEP (committee to re-elect the president), 18 minutes, resignation.

There were many more, but the above list struck home. I wonder what will be the defining memories for my daughter?

Anyway, I highly recommend the Century Trilogy. A good read for the upcoming winter months.

Comments on: "The Big Read – DONE" (1)

  1. awjo1991 said:

    I’ll have to let my mom know about this. Sounds like something she would love.

Leave a Reply

