Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Can You Hear Me Now?

I no longer have to deal with this issue. You know, the one where you can’t hear a conversation, or when the television or music volume is perfect for you, but uncomfortably loud for others.

My personal hearing favorite is having problems with speech recognition. I call these Emily Litella moments. Emily was performed by the late Gilda Radner from Saturday Night Live. Hard of hearing, Emily would rant about misheard topics, such as presidential erections, instead of presidential elections. Here’s Emily’s rant about Soviet jewelry.

http://vaviper.blogspot.com/2014/04/i-finally-located-video-of-gilda.html?m=1

My most infamous Emily Litella moment was a frantic phone call from my cousin. I thought she said “My mom stabbed my dad to death.” What she actually said was “My mom thinks my dad is dead.”

Recently, my rheumatologist told me to scratch in the morning before I got out of bed. I didn’t quite see how that would help my joint stiffness. Yup, it was stretch in the morning.

I finally had enough of missed conversations, so I went to an ENT doctor. My hearing was tested, and yes, I have hearing loss–enough of a loss that I could benefit from hearing aids.

And typically me, my range of hearing loss is not typical. I cannot hear low or midrange frequencies, but high range is normal. Yes, I can hear the shrill scream of a child, but not the guy sitting next to me. If more than one person is talking or there is any background noise, as in a restaurant, count me out of the conversation.

Because I have very tiny ear canals (who knew), I could not get the teensy tiny hearing aids that fit within the ear canal. But I got the next best ones that fit in the ear. You can see how small it is. I have the battery door open.
20140927-205822-75502616.jpg
This fits partially within my ear canal, but stays within the overall ear. Since my hair lightly covers my ears, you cannot see the hearing aid.

When I first put them in, I was astonished at everything I could hear! People talking 6 feet away. Sheesh, I could hear people talking directly to me without me having to read lips and guess at half of the conversation.

I had Daughter come to the house and set the TV volume where she could comfortably hear it. Without my new hearing aids, I could not hear the TV at that volume level. With them — a whole new experience!!

A friend and I went to dinner last night. We conversed at the restaurant–which was noisy and crowded–and she said she didn’t have to raise her voice for me to hear her.

The one thing I am not yet used to is that the sound of my own voice is echoing. It is weird. Makes me not want to talk because it is so bizarre sounding — but only to me. But supposedly I will get used to it. In the meantime, I am constantly talking out loud in an effort to speed up that process.

Yes, I can hear you now!

Comments on: "Can You Hear Me Now?" (3)

  1. congrats! though I wager 90% of convo might be better left unheard…

    • I totally agree! However, I find it easy to focus and tune stuff out. And I can now physically tune stuff out by just taking my aids out or turning them down. Yay for modern technology.

      TTFN Sandy

      >

      • I remember having a deaf instructor who, when he got tired of debating something with us, would just turn around and walk off… hard to argue with someone who doesn’t hear and won’t look at your lips!

        I’ve also had to learn to be very selective about when i engage my brain vs just letting everything be background noise

Leave a Reply

