Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Laboring on Labor Day

I had a huge project due at work by Tuesday morning. I thought it might only take a few hours to complete. Ha! Murphy’s Law reared it’s ugly head.

After 11 hours of work on Sunday, I knew I would have to get started early on Monday. A yummy breakfast started me out. Waffles with fresh raspberries, blackberries, and blueberries. And whip cream provided the required dairy needs.
20140902-173711-63431015.jpg
Everything that could go wrong, did go wrong. But it was Labor Day, so I persevered and labored on. Daughter stopped by so we grabbed dinner for a nice break. Then it was back to the laptop.

Thank goodness there were a lot of reruns on TV, so I had great background while working. And Ellie, my Siamese, provided a bit of comic relief.

By midnight I was getting tired, but still not done. A little leftover egg foo yung provided a second boost of energy. Finally, at 4:00 a.m. I uploaded the final project files and met my commitment to have things done by Tuesday morning.

I slept until noon, then got up and ran errands that I didn’t get done on Sunday and Monday. I worked a total of 26 hours on Sunday and Monday. And that’s how I put the labor in Labor Day.

Comments on: "Laboring on Labor Day" (2)

  1. breakfast looks yummy. kitty looks silly.
    glad it all worked out. i’m hoping for some similar miracle in my career change quest

  2. You’ve heard of Finagle’s Law, actually a corollary to Murphy’s Law: Everything that can go wrong, will–at the worst possible moment. I hope that didn’t happen. Of course I agree with whoever said “Murphy was an optimist.”

    Cute kitty!

Leave a Reply

