Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

It’s HOT!!

It has hit triple digits two days in a row where I live.
20140730-221338-80018911.jpg
That may not seem to be a big deal for some of you, but it has been 5 years since we saw a triple digit number. And now two in a row! The forecast for the next 10 days remains hot hot.
20140730-224510-81910640.jpg
Daughter is on the Oregon coast and sent me this refreshing photo.
20140730-222753-80873047.jpg
Wish I had a cool ocean breeze.

Comments on: "It’s HOT!!" (3)

  1. It has been in the 100s for three consecutive days down here, with no relief for the weekend. Hot summers are the norm in California, however. (Not that I like them, but I knew what I was getting into when I moved back!) I always thought WA state was cooler, even on the eastern side, since you’re farther north. I hope the heat wave breaks and your summer is a little closer to normal soon.

    (Off-topic, but I can’t help thinking about the first time we visited Seattle and Olympia as part of a Northwestern college tour for my younger daughter. It was mid-August, and it rained and rained and RAINED. The clerk at the hotel desk told us that it had been dry for several weeks prior to our coming, and locals were complaining of a drought. I guess our coming broke it: but walking across the University of Washington campus in a constant drizzle was miserable, especially since we had brought our dog, a little pomerpoo with thick, curly hair. The poor thing never got dry while we there!

    Olympia was even worse, since it poured at several choice moments, like when we were visiting the art building with the outdoor sculpture exhibit. Then I saw a huge banana slug crawl across our path. My son, who was in middle school at the time, wisecracked that was what people turned into when they stayed in the area too long. Now he lives there himself: I hope remembers what he said back then!)

    • I hear ya. We just had a couple of 100+ days. Too darn hot. At least we don’t have the humidity. I had to chuckle at your comment about slugs. Great sense of humor. I remember going to visit friends in Seattle and we went to a kid’s soccer game. Of course it rained the whole time. I was lucky that my friend lent me rain gear. Except my feet were drenched. I guess if that’s your norm, you are prepared. Rain is ok, but I need better rain boots. My daughter lives the rain and wants to leave on the coast.

      Hope California gets some rain soon. I hope we get rain without the lightning. Or the winds that blow down power lines that start fires. It has been like living in hell with the heat and several small fires daily.

Leave a Reply

