Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Today my daughter ran her first marathon. Yup, 26.2 miles. And I walked (and stood) about 2 miles so I could watch her finish. Here she is with less than 1/4 mile to go.
20140601-160439.jpg

Such an accomplishment! I was a proud mama as I limped to the finish line. I limped, not her. Old age, horrible knees, and arthritis, ya know.

When I caught up to her, she was on a massage table getting treated. She said she was on pace for a 4 hour finish time when a major charley horse took over one of her legs.
20140601-161210.jpg

She also mentioned that she thought she had a blister the size of a quarter on her left heel. But she finished! Check out the medallion all finishers received.
20140601-161443.jpg

All finishers were handed that medallion at the finish line by a Marine in uniform. And finishers also received a long stem red rose.

What a great kid!! I am so proud of my daughter! And you know what was the best part? After the race, she thanked me for coming to watch her finish. How could I not walk a measly 2 miles to see her finish a 26.2 mile jaunt.

Comments on: "26.2 miles vs. 2 miles" (1)

  1. great job!! i did a 5k in my 20s and swore off running forever!

Leave a Reply

