Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Goodbye Maya Angelou

I am sad to hear of the passing of a great woman, Maya Angelou.

I often quote her to my daughter.

The first time someone shows you who they are, believe them.

And this down-to-earth quote, which I try to follow, but often don’t succeed.

If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude. Don’t complain.

Thank you Maya Angelou for your strength and inspiration. Rest in peace.

20140528-210840.jpg

Comments on: "Goodbye Maya Angelou" (3)

  1. I heard the news as I pulled into the parking lot at work. I had to sit for a few minutes in silence and think about it: she was/is one of my favorite poets; she also had a beautiful, noble voice that made me shiver when she read her poems. So sad, and grateful, I suppose, that the only way to hear it again is via recordings and videos.

  2. cardamone5 said:

    Thank YOU for writing this piece. My heart broke yesterday when I heard the news of Dr. Angelou’s death. Any idea where the someone shows you, believe them quote comes from? The reason I ask is because I reference it in my memoir, and want to credit not just Dr. Angelou, but also the written source. I tried googling it and came up empty. Gosh, she was a wonder. I read one of her six memoirs and was floored. Raising a son on her own while performing, being an activist, traveling to Africa, whoa what a life.

Leave a Reply

