Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

X is for Xingu

I am participating in the A-to-Z Challenge again this year. My theme is My Favorite Books. Most of the books I will be posting about, I have read more than once. After all, they are my favorites.

X is for Xingu by Edith Wharton.

20140427-181924.jpg

Xingu is a short story by the incomparable Edith Wharton (of Ethan Frome and Age of Innocence fame) published in 1916. Yes, I was reaching for an X book, and thrilled that I found this little gem. I will be reading again in the future!

The story is about a small book club and the incredibly self-important members of the club. When I started reading this, I admit that I was glad I was reading it on my Kindle so I could easily look up the definition of several words. But I kept reading because I wanted to know more about this book club and its members.

And am I glad I persevered! I won’t go into details about what happened at a book club meeting because it will spoil the story for you. But I strongly encourage you to read this particular short story. You will walk away chuckling and realizing that being pompous and pretentious occurred in 1916 as much as it still occurs today. And some people know how to deal with it with humor.

Leave a Reply

