Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

I am participating in the A-to-Z Challenge again this year. My theme is My Favorite Books. Most of the books I will be posting about, I have read more than once. After all, they are my favorites.

W is for The World According to Garp by John Irving.
20140425-195809.jpg

This book was published in 1978 and was the fourth novel by John Irving. Garp’s life is detailed throughout the book. His mother was a feminist icon and Garp grew up in such a household.

There are interesting characters, such as a transgender ex-football player, a group of radical feminist who cut out their tongues in support of a young rape victim, and Garp’s mother.

John Irving writes odd, but interesting books. He also wrote Hotel New Hampshire, The Cider House Rules, and A Prayer for Owen Meany. All of these, including Garp, have been made into movies.

Garp is my favorite out of all his books, and favorite movie from Irving’s books. So read the book and the watch the movie, or vice versa; they are both great!

Comments on: "W is for The World According to Garp" (5)

  1. Oh HO!! I am bookmarking this site. Finding good books anymore (check my post for Friday) became a trial when I started writing. Just. Can’t. Find. a Good. Book anymore. I’ll check through your posts for new ones.

  2. cardamone5 said:

    I love this book, and have reread it many times. My fav, though, is A Prayer for Owen Meany. There’s something about that character that speaks to me.

    Fondly,
    Elizabeth

  3. I love John Irving. The Cider House Rules is my favourite of his novels and one of my absolute favourite books.

Leave a Reply

