Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

I am participating in the A-to-Z Challenge again this year. My theme is My Favorite Books. Most of the books I will be posting about, I have read more than once. After all, they are my favorites.

S is for the Spenser series by Robert B. Parker.
20140421-210358.jpg

There are 40 books in the Spenser series by the late great Robert B. Parker. The first one, The Godwulf Manuscript, was published in 1973. The last one by RBP, Sixkill, was published in 2011, after the author’s death in 2010. Three other Spenser books by other authors have also been published since RBP’s death.

Spenser is a private investigator in Boston. The series details a specific case for each book, but also provides insight into Spenser’s personal life. As the books continue, you feel as if you are a friend of Spenser and involved in his life.

I started reading these books a few years ago when a friend was going through chemo for breast cancer. We read all of the books in order. This provided not only great reading, but common ground for discussion for anything besides cancer.

I cried when I heard of RBP’s death. How I miss his incredible books. He also wrote the Jesse Stone series. These have been made into TV movies starring Tom Selleck as Jesse Stone.

I so so so recommend the Spenser series if you are into the detective genre.

Leave a Reply

