Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

R is for Roots

I am participating in the A-to-Z Challenge again this year. My theme is My Favorite Books. Most of the books I will be posting about, I have read more than once. After all, they are my favorites

R is for Roots by Alex Haley.
20140420-205104.jpg

This incredible novel was published in 1976. It tells the story of an African boy, Kunte Kinte, captured in Africa and sold into slavery in the United States in the late 18th century. And the book details his life and his family from then until 1976. The author, Alex Haley, alleges he is a descendent of Kunte Kinte.

After the book was published, there was some controversy regarding the author’s claims. Regardless, this is such an extraordinary read. After you have read the book, be sure to see the mini-series that was created in 1977.

How many people read this book and then became interested in their own family ancestry?

Comments on: "R is for Roots" (2)

  1. The mini- series was outstanding! I usually try to read the book first, but sometimes that doesn’t happen.

  2. I saw the mini series first…which drove me to the book. I loved them both

Leave a Reply

