Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

I am participating in the A-to-Z Challenge again this year. My theme is My Favorite Books. Most of the books I will be posting about, I have read more than once. After all, they are my favorites.

M is for Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden.

20140414-171443.jpg
This historical novel, published in 1997, tells the story of a young Japanese girl and how she becomes a geisha. There is a great deal of cultural insight into geisha training.

Beautifully written, the book engaged me into a life completely unknown to me. Treachery as a means of survival is a common theme seen throughout the book which spans several decades.

This is a lovely book, and it was made into a beautifully-filmed movie. Read the book first, and then see the movie.

This is such a favorite of mine, even my daughter has read it more than once.

Comments on: "M is for Memoirs of a Geisha" (1)

  1. I’ve ready this one, too. I really enjoyed it!

    http://www.thingsmymothertaught.com

Leave a Reply

