Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

I am participating in the A-to-Z Challenge again this year. My theme is My Favorite Books. Most of the books I will be posting about, I have read more than once. After all, they are my favorites.

L is for the Lord of the Rings trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien.

20140413-041355.jpg
These are my favorite and most read books! The above image is how I remember the cover art for the books when I first read them in 1967. I read them every summer–perfect beach reading–until the mid 1980s. Since then, I have probably read them another 3-4 times.

Since I have devoured them, I have exact pictures in my mind of every character, location, and battle. I–along with half of the earth’s population–can do a perfect Gollum imitation.

Because of the pictures in my head, I refuse to see the movies based on the books. I have seen a couple of trailers, but don’t want to contaminate my vision of Middle Earth.

Since the books are fairly well known, I am not going to provide even the briefest summary. Just let it be known that these are a must-read if you want to be pulled into the adventure of absolute friendship and good vs. evil.

Comments on: "L is for Lord of the Rings" (2)

  1. My A-Z challenge theme is ‘books that I hate’, lol 🙂 Loved the LOTR trilogy and the movies were actually really good too.

    Finley Jayne
    http://finleyjaynesbookshelves.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

