Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

I am participating in the A-to-Z Challenge again this year. My theme is My Favorite Books. Most of the books I will be posting about, I have read more than once. After all, they are my favorites.

K is for The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini.

kite runner

This work of fiction, published in 2003, is the first novel by the Afghan-American author. It is a story of a father-son relationship that goes from the son’s younger years while in Afghanistan, through his adult years after immigrating to America. A pivotal element is the close friendship between two young boys, Hassan and Amir.

The book provides a historical perspective into the fall of the Afghanistan monarchy and how citizens were affected. This particular family immigrates to American and starts a new chapter of their life.

This book was so well written that when I was done reading it, I had to go back to double-check if it was a work of fiction. It is.

Comments on: "K is for The Kite Runner" (8)

  1. […] Msmousecleanshouse ~ K is for The Kite Runner.  Now higher up on my reading list! […]

  2. I really enjoyed this book. The subject matter was very tough to get through, but Hosseini has a way of really capturing my attention. I think I like A Thousand Splendid Suns better.

    http://www.thingsmymothertaught.com

  3. lv2trnscrb said:

    Visiting from A/Z; I enjoyed this book as well as A Thousand Splendid Suns. Good theme you have for the challenge; good luck with the rest of it!

    betty
    http://viewsfrombenches.blogspot.com/

  4. Having been blown away by ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’, this one by the same author is also on my reading list 🙂
    #AtoZChallenge http://virtuallyallsorts.wordpress.com

  5. I considered writing my A to Z along a similar theme. Maybe next year. It is amazing how good fiction can be as real, or even more real, than actual events.

Leave a Reply

