Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

I am participating in the A-to-Z Challenge again this year. My theme is My Favorite Books. Most of the books I will be posting about, I have read more than once. After all, they are my favorites.

I is for I Know This Much is True by Wally Lamb.
I know this much is true

This is Wally Lamb’s second novel, published in 1998. It is the story of two identical twin brothers, Thomas and Dominick. Thomas has paranoid schizophrenia. Dominick’s life is unraveling after the death of his baby daughter and dealing with Thomas. There is a lot going on in the lives of these brothers! I don’t want to spoil the story with more information, but divorce, amputation, stepfathers, HIV, and memories are key components. There…that should get you interested.

With his words, Wally Lamb draws such a complete picture of life. His first novel, She’s Come Undone, is also exquisite. The third novel, The Hour I First Believed, is somewhat about the Columbine shootings, although it is a work of fiction. Lamb’s latest novel, We Are Water, was recently published. It is at the top of my to-read list and I am anticipating a full-blown immersion into someone else’s life.

I cannot recommend these books enough.

Comments on: "I is for I Know This Much is True" (3)

  1. Thanks for the recommendation. 🙂

  2. cardamone5 said:

    I loved both She’s Come Undone and I Know This Much Is True (esp. since I have twin boys myself.) I reread the latter when I was in a bad place emotionally, and unfortunately associated the book with my circumstances so I can’t pick it up again without being bombarded with bad memories. But, I look forward to reading the newer ones. Thanks for this lead.

    Best regards,
    Elizabeth

  3. Sounds interesting.

Leave a Reply

