Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

I am participating in the A-to-Z Challenge again this year. My theme is My Favorite Books. Most of the books I will be posting about, I have read more than once. After all, they are my favorites.

G is for The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson.

Stieg Larsson wrote the Millennium trilogy, which consists of the following three books.

  • The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (2005)
  • The Girl Who Played With Fire (2006)
  • The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest (2007)

These books tell the story of Mikael, a disgraced journalist, who is hired by a wealthy man to discover what happened some 40 years early. Enter Lisbeth Salander, a computer whiz with stellar investigative skills that help Mikael in his search. Once you start reading the first book, you must go through the other two to reach the end of the 40 year old mystery.

I first heard about these books when I saw the Swedish movie for the first book. Although the movie was in Swedish, the captioning was excellent, and it was easy to follow the complicated story line. Then an American movie was made of the first book. I was hesitant to watch it because by now I had read all three books, seen the Swedish movie, and just could not see how it could get any better.

I was wrong! Daniel Craig was perfect as Mikael, and Rooney Mara, playing Lisbeth Salander, was nominated for an Academy Award in 2011. Excellent movie, but read the books first. Warning: both the books and movies have some disturbing scenes.

Stieg Larsson died in 2004 at the age of 50. It was only after his death that the Millennium trilogy was discovered and later published. I hope he knows how great his books are!

Comments on: "G is for The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" (4)

  1. I loved this series. I had several people tell me it was hard to get into so I waited to read it, even though I owned the first one, until finally one day I saw it in my guest room and sat down to read the first few pages. Hours later I was on the floor, totally engrossed. It had a great plot and I honestly didn’t see the twist coming. I went out and bought the other 2 the next day.

  2. thelmaz said:

    Visiting fellow A to Zers. Hope you’ll visit back. http://www.widowsphere.blogspot.com and read my quirky quotes for each letter. I love your favorite books theme. The “girl” books were some of my favorites. Now I think someone has finished his fourth book. I wonder if it will be as good as the others.

    • I will be stopping by your blog. I read about Larsson’s 4th book but apparently it is still not published (estate issues maybe).

  3. i am still to read the trilogy…hoping to do so soon.

Leave a Reply

