Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

F is for Fatal Vision

I am participating in the A-to-Z Challenge again this year. My theme is My Favorite Books. Most of the books I will be posting about, I have read more than once. After all, they are my favorites.

F is for Fatal Vision by Joe McGinnis.
fatal vision

Along with mysteries, humor, and biographies, I am heavy into true crime. Fatal Vision is the true story of Green Beret Captain Dr. Jeffery MacDonald, who was convicted for the 1970 murder of his pregnant wife and two little girls. This situation is quite interesting because the Army decided to not prosecute MacDonald. He was later brought to trial after his father-in-law sought a new civil trial. A trial was finally granted and MacDonald was convicted in 1979.

McGinniss interviewed MacDonald and published Fatal Vision in 1983. MacDonald sued McGinniss saying that he (McGinniss) was in breach of contract because he was suppose to support MacDonald. Eventually, McGinniss had to pay MacDonald $$$.

Currently, MacDonald is in jail, still appealing his verdict.

Joe McGinniss died March 10, 2014. He also wrote The Selling of the President. His other ventures into true crime consist of Blind Faith and True Doubt. All three of his crime books have been made into TV mini-series.

Comments on: "F is for Fatal Vision" (4)

  1. I’m also into true crime. I don’t know why these type of horrific tragedies intrigue me.

    Stopping in from the A to Z Challenge! http://www.thingsmymothertaught.com

    • I know. I have trying to figure out why I am obsessed. I came to the conclusion that by reading details of what happened, I can hopefully learn of things NOT to do that may get me in a similar situation. Weird, but that’s all I could come up with.

  2. Yup , they did make a TV movie. Gary Cole played MacDonald. You have a good memory; he did try to blame it on hippies.

    TTFN Sandy

    >

  3. cardamone5 said:

    I remember this story. Didn’t they make it into a tv movie, before Dateline, etc? So scary, and very gory as I recall. I tried to make it look like hippies did it right?

    Best regards,
    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

