Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

I am participating in the A-to-Z Challenge again this year. My theme is My Favorite Books. Most of the books I will be posting about, I have read more than once. After all, they are my favorites.

C is for The Cat Who… series of books by Lilian Jackson Braun.

cat-who

I love reading books in a series. It provides a deeper sense of the characters. And I also like mysteries and cats, so what could be better than a mystery book series about cats.

The first book in the series is The Cat Who Could Read Backwards, published in 1966. The books feature a journalist, Jim Qwilleran, and his Siamese cats, Koko and Yum-Yum. A distant relative leaves him a huge fortune, with the restriction that he must live in a specific rural area. Koko, the cat, has a sixth sense and provides Qwill with clues to help him solve mysteries that come his way.

There are a total of 29 books in the series, with the last one published in 2007. There was to be a 30th book, but Lilian Jackson Braun died and the book was never published.

Charming series of books, especially if you like quirky cats.

Comments on: "C is for “The Cat Who…” series" (12)

  1. You are the first person I’ve ever run into that knows this series and likes them! They can be a little corny at times but I just find Qwill’s interactions with Koko and Yum Yum hilarious. I own most of the series…I usually surf thrift stores looking for decent copies of the books.

    • Sometimes I need the light reading and that’s why I love these books. I go to a local used book store for most of the older books and can usually find what I am looking for.

  2. I only got a few pages into one of these before drifting to some other book. It now sits on my living room table and mocks me.

  3. Hi there, I’m Dale from Smurfin’ The Web returning you visit. Nice theme you have going on here. I have to admit I’m not much of a reader, but good luck with the rest of your month. Hope you like the rest of my movies =)

  4. I’ve enjoyed part of this series.

    Jean, visiting for the A-Z Challenge from Rantings and Ravings of an Insane Writer

  5. I have never heard of these before

    • Hope you try one. Let me know what you think. I am easily entertained and won’t care if you don’t like the books.

  6. cardamone5 said:

    I like this. I’m going to check in out at my library. Thanks for the lead.

    Best regards,
    Elizabeth

  7. Great A-Z theme, I’m a book lover, too. This series of books sounds fun, I’m surprised not to have heard of them before.

  8. I can imagine they were quirky if they involved cats and I love mystery books. An interesting twist on a genre!

  9. I have really enjoyed the series; light, quick reads. And ya gotta live the cats!

  10. I have read a few of these and need to read more!

Leave a Reply

