Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Add a Dash in a Jiffy

I was looking up an old recipe the other day and noticed it mentioned adding a pinch of salt. It made me wonder if there is an exact measurement for a pinch. And how about a dash?

20140308-222230.jpg
Dash. This is usually considered to be 1/8 teaspoon.

Pinch. A pinch is half of a dash, thus 1/16 teaspoon.

Smidge. I have always heard this as a smidge, but it is really a smidgen. A smidgen is half of a pinch, thus 1/32 of a teaspoon.

How about measurements of time? We all say “I’ll be there in a jiffy.” I am way off with that statement because a jiffy is 0.1 second. I don’t think I can do anything as speedy as a jiffy.

20140308-224446.jpg

Maybe two shakes of a lamb’s tail is more my speed. Wrong again. A shake is 10 nanoseconds, thus two shakes would be 20 nanoseconds.

Wait a moment. Now that is more my speed. A moment is 90 seconds.

And measurements of time are of special importance today due to Daylight Saving Time. (Please note that the correct usage is … Saving…, not Savings.) Yup, time to spring ahead and lose that hour. Guess it will take me a fortnight* or so to reset my internal clock and get to work on time.

*Fortnight = 2 weeks.

Comments on: "Add a Dash in a Jiffy" (2)

  1. I love it! A femtosecond is now my favorite measurement of time. Now I am going to have to figure out a proper way to work that word into a sentence.

  2. a femtosecond is one millionth of one billionth of a second. (I work with femtosecond lasers – they make roughly 3 million little bubbles in the eye in 10 seconds… creating a cut which is actually a super elaborate perforation)

Leave a Reply

