Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

January 24 is National Peanut Butter day! And I almost missed it. But not really because I usually eat peanut butter every single day.

Fragrant, creamy, gooey, lovely peanut butter!
20140124-175058.jpg
I have great peanut butter memories. When I was very young, I remember using a fork to squish balls of peanut butter cookie dough.
20140124-175028.jpg
Eating peanut butter smeared on saltines was a favorite snack as a kid. This was one thing I shared with my dad. Saltines back then came in sheets of 2×3 squares. Dad and I would smear peanut butter across an entire sheet, making sure to completely cover every part of the cracker. Then when it was thick enough, we would plop another cracker sheet on top. This is still a favorite snack of mine, but now it consists of maybe 2-3 little crackers.
20140124-175807.jpg
And who can forget peanut butter on celery? Add a couple of raisins and you have ants on log.
20140124-175925.jpg
And peanut butter sandwiches!!

  • With jam
  • With lettuce ( don’t grimace until you try it)
  • With sweet pickles
  • With cheese

I could go on and on. But before I forget, let’s remember the perfect combination of a sweet crunchy apple dipped in peanut butter.
20140124-181144.jpg
Sorry, I have to go get some peanut butter. Hmmm… with crackers or apples?

Comments on: "National Peanut Butter Day!!" (3)

  1. we sometimes ate Fluffernutter sandwiches (pb + marshmallow creme… an east coast thing). my neighbors ate pb + ONION sandwiches.

    i’m most fond of straight up peanut butter on a spoon.

  2. Does eating Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups count? I’ve lost my appetite for peanut butter sandwiches as I get older, but peanut butter with chocolate is worth giving up whatever New Year’s resolutions I had about diet.

    • I suppose eating Reese’s does indeed count. Oddly, as much as I love peanut butter and chocolate, I do not like Reese’s peanut butter cups. Maybe it is because they are milk chocolate and I stick with dark chocolate.

      TTFN Sandy

      >

Leave a Reply

