Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Sunday Football

UPDATE: Seahawks win!
20140119-185723.jpg

When I was growing up, I watched football games with my mom; not my dad, my mom. For the Rose Bowl games I would plot each play on huge sheets of paper. At the end of the game, or a day or year later, I could look at that paper and see each play.
20140118-231222.jpg

My love of football was anchored in the 1970’s when I cheered on George Blanda of the Oakland Raiders. Game after game, George’s quarterback and kicking skills provided the win. And Fred Biletnikoff was also on my list.

As I got older, I retained my love of football. I was lucky enough to attend a couple of Miami Dolphin games when Dan Marino was their quarterback.

Then came motherhood and I didn’t have time to watch football. Although I rarely watch TV anymore, this year I have been trying to watch me some football.
20140118-224812.jpg
And my team is the Seattle Seahawks!! Today they play the evil San Francisco 49ers for the NFC championship. The winner goes to the Super Bowl.

Although I live in eastern Washington (Seattle is 300 miles to the west), Seahawk fever is strong!

  • Starbucks sold 12 cents cups of coffee last Friday for customers wearing Seahawk colors (blue and green).
  • Albertsons (my favorite grocery store) gives customers a 10% discount when they wear Seahawk clothing on game day.
  • A 12th man flag is now hanging from the clock tower in Riverfront Park. The 12th man is Seattle’s way of representing the fans; the 12th man on the field.

20140118-225347.jpg

Where will I be on Sunday, January 19?
Watching the Seahawks wend their way to Super Bowl XLVIII.

Go hawks!

Comments on: "Sunday Football" (2)

  1. Do I dare mention I’m a 49ers fan? [Ducks behind protective wall] 😉

Leave a Reply

