Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

I am stained and chockful of redness. Redness that comes from strawberries.

20130714-184249.jpg

Daughter makes a strawberry smoothie every day. That is her energizer quickie. She uses strawberries, bananas, and yogurt. All except strawberries we can get throughout the year. So I have always stocked up on berries in the summer, freezing them for future consumption.

Since Daughter has been basically gone for several years, I have gotten out of that summer chore. But now she is home for a year and the strawberry smoothies have been calling her name.

Although it is very convenient to head up to a U-Pick field and gather our own gems, we have come to appreciate Klicker strawberries. In reality, we are addicted to them.

To read about Klicker’s, click here. Haha, pun intended. Seriously, not only are Klickers mouth-watering tasty, but I buy them cleaned and sliced. So easy to just grab a scoop and plop them on whatever you are having.

Here are some of my favs.

  • cereal (Rice Krispies, granola, oatmeal)
  • waffles or pancakes
  • fruit salad (great with canteloupe)
  • spinach salad (just toss in some strawberries for color and flavor)
  • lemonade (again, just toss in some berries and enjoy)
  • ice cream
  • milk shakes (yum)
  • strawberry shortcake
  • angel food cake with strawberries and whip cream (my fav)

20130714-190455.jpg

Sorry, I have to go eat some strawberries. More in the upcoming Strawberry Fields Forever – Part 2.

Comments on: "Strawberry Fields Forever – Part 1" (4)

  1. Yummy! I’ve got raspberries growing in my back yard right now. They are yummy, too!

    • I so love raspberries that I am considering planting some raspberry bushes at home. We will probably be at a U-pick for raspberries next weekend. Maybe we’ll show up at your house!

  2. Yum, you’re making me crave strawberries now. The last box we bought from the grocery store was unfortunately kind of sour and without a lot of flavor. I’m thinking next time we should sprinkle them with sugar and eat them with whipping cream or vanilla ice cream.

    I also like freezing the berries, then dropping them into a tall tumbler full of water. The water slowly thaws them out, while the berries act like ice cubes and chill the water. When I’ve drained the water, I eat the berries. 🙂

    • I had not thought of putting them in water. Maybe I will try freezing them in ice cube trays with a bit of water.

      The Klickers are just perfect without sugar. I am so lucky do have access to them.

Leave a Reply

