Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

20130223-195428.jpg

This incident happened a few weeks ago. Daughter and a few friends went climbing on a weekend day. She had told me she was going so I just asked her to text me when she got back.

Later that day, I received her text about 4:00 in the afternoon. My first thought was “Wow, you are home early.” And then I didn’t think much more about; she was safe and at home.

A couple of days later I was checking out Facebook. This is what I saw.

20130223-195334.jpg

That is the hand of one of her fellow climbers. Yes, I freaked out! I immediately contacted daughter to find out what the heck happened. By the way, she didn’t tell me because she didn’t want me to worry.

20130223-201719.jpg

They all hiked in to the climbing spot. Friend #1 was about 40 feet up the rock. And then he fell. Friend #2 (the hands) tried to slow his fall by hanging on to the rope. He fell on top of her.

They were both injured but could walk – thank goodness! The group hiked out and drove to the hospital. Friend #1 injured his back and had a concussion. Friend #2 had bruises (on her head) and shredded both hands.

Both are fine now. However, I was questioning daughter’s choice of sports. Why couldn’t she take up something like table tennis? How about a nice game of chess?

This incident opened her eyes about safety. And that’s always a good thing.

Daughter recently informed me that she is going to California for spring break. So what’s in California? She is going rock climbing with her boyfriend and a couple of other friends (not the ones injured). She has assured me they are very very safety-conscious.

I certainly hope so because I need to sleep at night.

Comments on: "Why I Can’t Sleep at Night" (4)

  1. Okay. I won’t repeat the story I know about a professional climber and HalfDome.

  2. Good lord, I wouldn’t sleep either if one of my kids sent me a photo like that. (Actually, it would likely be my son: my daughters don’t do a lot of risky outdoors stuff, though the younger one almost gave me a heart attack when she told me about some of her adventures traveling through Asia.) My husband however was an enthusiastic mountain climber and downhill skier (he thought it was “terrific” to ski off of a cliff and drop onto a mountainside of powdered snow). Some of the stories he told me gave me the shivers; I can only imagine what it did to my mother-in-law, who had a bad heart. Still, I knew he was happiest when he was on a mountain, so I let him go every winter to Colorado to ski and climb to his heart’s content.

    It’s a bit harder with your own children, however. They’re always your “kids,” no matter how old they are, and thinking about your “baby” hanging from a 50-foot cliff will make your heart stop. It seems to get worse as I get older, too: maybe because I know now that nothing, job, bank account, property or material goods, matters more than the people you love.

    Anyway, I hope your daughter has a fun, safe vacation. I’m guessing she’s going to the coast to climb, since the Sierras are covered in ice and snow?

  3. Oh my gosh. I am so glad no one was hurt badly.
    I wouldn’t be sleeping, either. But, a small accident where someone learns something is much much better than a terrible tragedy. That’s what I told each of my kids when they had their first (no injury) car accidents. They were their only car accidents, too, thank goodness!

    • That was my response when daughter told me the details. It made a huge pact on her and she now is very cautious who she climbs with. Hopefully lesson learned.

Leave a Reply

