Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

I have this annoying earwig burrowed deep in my brain. Earwig? Sorry, I mean earworm. (Guess that should be an indicator of how my brain is affected.)

“Somebody That I Used to Know” has been with me for at least 3 weeks now. The video is catchy and the song is priceless (IMHO).

The original by Gotye just hit the right musical spot in my head. After googling it, I found a spectacular rendition by Walk off the Earth (WOTE). You must watch this; the 5 members of WOTE play a single guitar and sing my current earworm.

So exactly what is an earworm? You know – you have had them. A piece of music or melody that keeps floating around your brain. It is just popping up internally as if the song is caught in an infinite loop. If I am not concentrating on something else, the lyric “Somebody…” is in control.

If you have ever been to Disneyland, you probably were infected with the “It’s a Small World After All” earworm. Or more recently you got bitten by “Call Me Maybe.”

Scientists have noted that most earworms are very short in length, 15-30 seconds. You don’t hear the whole song, just a short burst of a catchy component. And more people with OCD (obsessive compulsive disorder) tendencies appear to get earworms.

But how do you get rid of the little bugger? I am fearful that very soon I am going to scream “Somebody…” out loud and will be carted off to the looney bin.

One termination suggestion is to sing the “Happy Birthday” song several times. Yeah, right! I would rather have “Somebody” as my earworm instead of “Happy Birthday.”

Or how about some ear guards to keep those earwigs out?

20130112-011423.jpg
Sorry, it’s earworm, not earwig.

What’s your current earworm? And of course I will take any suggestions for banishment of my melody overload.

Help!! Somebody!!

Comments on: "Help – I Have an Earwig!" (6)

  1. I didn’t have an earworm did you mentioned DLand – then I got “permane ser sentado, por favor”

  2. Covers ears: la la la, not hearing this!

    Another blogger mentioned a song called “Sunshine in Chicago” by Sun Kil Moon. I heard it on Pitchfork and for some reason, it is locked in my brain. It goes away when I’m occupied by something else, but as soon as it’s quiet and I have time to think….

  3. well know I”m infected too…. great song, great video. Both versions.

Leave a Reply

