Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

My last post was almost 2 months ago. I guess it is time to get back on the job and figure out what I have been doing. In summary, I have:

  • Picked up daughter after her spectacular trip to Japan. I have lots of her pictures and will post them in the future. But just to whet your whistle, here’s a sample. (This one’s for you Lorna.)

  • Had to prepare (that means clean, declutter) house for appraisal. Daughter helped with that and we got it done! Received a good appraisal and after a few more weeks, I signed the final papers to refinance my house. Now saving $255/month. Do I hear a “woot woot?”
  • I ended up getting sick after all that hard work. That dragged on for some time with no help from the smoke in the air due to lots of wildfires to the west of where I live. After feeling good, bad, and then worse, I found out I had strep throat. But that is in the past now.
  • Was called to jury duty. I had never been before and it was extremely interesting seeing how the justice system worked. More on that in a future post.
  • Lots and lots of work at work, which got put on the back burner due to 6 days of jury duty.
  • Cats have been hanging in there and are as spoiled as ever. Now that the weather is finally cooling down, Ellie is even more chummier. She likes to crawl under the covers again. I still have not turned on my heat, but am using my fireplace. It truly is cozy when reading, with cats and warmth.

Ellie and Sunni (and their favorite toys) getting toasty by the fire.

  • I have started a new mosaic project and that took a couple of weekends to get going. More in a future post.
  • Tons and tons of reading and watching videos of TV series. Am up-to-date with Doc Martin, Downton Abbey, and starting season 4 of West Wing.

So that is my past 2 months in a nutshell. I now have to go to bed and figure out how I am going to create posts on Japan trip, jury duty, cats (of course), my new mosaic project, and all that other stuff that always comes up.

Take care all!

Comments on: "Let’s Get Up to Speed…" (4)

  1. I am happy to be able to read the exciting events in your life. Glad you are back….

  2. Thanks for the picture of the Buddha! And I love the West Wing–isn’t the writing and acting just phenomenal?

    Hurrah on the savings from the re-fi, too. And, lastly but not leastly, WELCOME BACK! 🙂

  3. belated welcome back!
    glad you got over the strep. looking forward to more stories.

  4. Oh ugh! Strep throat is horrible. The last time I had it, it felt like I was swallowing knives every time I took a sip of water. I suppose the smoke from the fires didn’t help it either. We had grass fires ignite almost 100 miles from our house, and I still had dry eyes and a sore throat.

    I’m looking forward to reading about your daughter’s adventures in Japan. I think it’s a great country for a young person (or an old one!) to visit and study. My younger daughter worked there for three years, however, and she came back quite jaded and unhappy with her experience, mainly because she was posted in the countryside where people were a lot more provincial and less open to “gaijin.” I hope your daughter had a better time there. Post soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

