Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

It was extremely hazy yesterday. And all due to fires everywhere! Locally there were a couple of small brush fires that were contained fairly fast.

But the big Taylor Bridge fire burns on. Although the fire area is about 180 miles away, the smoke is seriously invading my breathing space! Late yesterday, I was outside and noticing the air quality was causing throat irritation. But this morning my throat was raw and uncomfortable. Here it is in the evening and it fills like a bag of cotton balls is stuck in my throat.

Since Daughter lives in a town close to the fire, I am thankful she is still in Japan. Knowing her, she would still be outside breathing all that smokey air and cluttering up her lungs. I will be driving through the fire area on In a few days and am hoping the freeway isn’t closed.

I am considering hitting Costco before I go and buying water or Gatoraid for the firefighters. I am driving right through the area and the locals have enough problems of their own.

Here’s a picture (taken by Dan Crowell of Soundview Aerial) showing the smoke coming my way.

20120815-200745.jpg

I hope the weather cooperates so this destructive fire can be contained soon! Forecast has highs in triple digits this weekend and let’s not even talk about the wind (the area is infamous for being windy).

Comments on: "Really, it is Burning Hot!" (6)

  1. Hey… where did you go? You okay?

  2. stay safe. keep the windows closed, etc.
    i hope the fire is out ASAP.

    • Don’t worry in that I usually keep the windows closed. I hope it is out soon too! It is too close to where my daughter lives.

      • I’ve had many coworkers evac’d, over the years, due to wildfires but, so far, no one has lost anything. Hope that holds true for your daughter as well!

  3. I don’t “like” that things are burning up around you, but I just wanted to let you know I’m thinking about you and like that you are blogging about what’s happening, which means that you aren’t in danger. I like that. 🙂

    • Thanks! No danger where I live, though it might be interesting on Sunday when I drive just south of the fire. As of today, it is now 25% contained.

Leave a Reply

It was extremely hazy yesterday. And all due to fires everywhere! Locally there were a couple of small brush fires that were contained fairly fast.

But the big Taylor Bridge fire burns on. Although the fire area is about 180 miles away, the smoke is seriously invading my breathing space! Late yesterday, I was outside and noticing the air quality was causing throat irritation. But this morning my throat was raw and uncomfortable. Here it is in the evening and it fills like a bag of cotton balls is stuck in my throat.

Since Daughter lives in a town close to the fire, I am thankful she is still in Japan. Knowing her, she would still be outside breathing all that smokey air and cluttering up her lungs. I will be driving through the fire area on In a few days and am hoping the freeway isn’t closed.

I am considering hitting Costco before I go and buying water or Gatoraid for the firefighters. I am driving right through the area and the locals have enough problems of their own.

Here’s a picture (taken by Dan Crowell of Soundview Aerial) showing the smoke coming my way.

20120815-200745.jpg

I hope the weather cooperates so this destructive fire can be contained soon! Forecast has highs in triple digits this weekend and let’s not even talk about the wind (the area is infamous for being windy).

Leave a Reply

