Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Evening Walk-about

I was driving home from work this evening, admiring the scenery. On the road ahead of me was a truck crawling along with its lights flashing.

As I got closer, I saw a deer walking in front of the truck. Walking very slowly, the deer kept turning her head and looking behind her. I thought she was watching the truck.

Then I noticed a tiny animal very close to the deer. At first glance I thought it was a gangly dog. Odd pairing. But as I moved a bit closer, I smiled at my luck. This was a fawn out for an evening walk with mama.

20120608-203857.jpg
Soon mama turned left onto a smaller road and stopped. Baby followed. Then the truck in front of me drove off, having diligently performed his crosswalk duty.

I pulled up to the road and whipped out my iPhone. At first I didn’t see the fawn, but she soon stuck her head out of the brush. Little Bambi was a tad wobbly on her feet. I wonder how old she was.

Such a delight to see them on a little walk-about. Hope they stay safe!

Comments on: "Evening Walk-about" (4)

  1. That photo almost looks like a postcard, and the deer posed for it! It’s also nice that the truck’s driver stopped for Mama and baby. Some people are so impatient they won’t even slow down for an animal.

  2. Hooray for Crosswalk Duty!
    You got a really good pic!

  3. Awww, that is such a heartwarming story! Bambi is so teeny, peeking out of the grass.

  4. What a sweet photo of the deer! I love moments like that. They are so special.

Leave a Reply

