Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Deja Vu Weather?

A local planting tip is to not plant until the snow is off the mountain. I always adhere to this tip and have not been disappointed. This year, I was able to plant on May 19 – about 2.5 weeks ago.

But it seems as if we are going back in time weather-wise. It was downright cold at my house this morning (42F); cold and wet! It’s been raining for a few days and windy too. Here is today’s view of the afore-mentioned mountain that was snowless 2.5 weeks ago.

20120606-192857.jpg

Does this mean I have to unplant my flowers? ARG! And they were all doing quite well. Hope this cold spell ends before the flowers freeze to death. But the forecast is lows in low-40s and highs in the mid-60s until next week.

In an earlier post about my gorgeous irises (Love my Irises), I had mentioned a black iris. Well, guess what showed up today?

20120606-193219.jpg

The photo makes it look dark dark purple, but it indeed looks black in the yard. Guess I need to remember which one it is so I can possibly split it up later this summer. Wish me luck with that remembering part. (Remembering what?)

Comments on: "Deja Vu Weather?" (2)

  1. Beautiful!
    I hope your flowers do well. We had really chilly weather too this past week, but now it’s supposed to warm up.

  2. I sure hope it warms up for you! We are finally getting a warm week. It’s been cold, blustery and cloudy…..just like you ..40s and 60s.

    Awesome black iris! I want to remember to split up some of my alliums. Remember what, also? 😉

Leave a Reply

