Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

This post is part of the A-to-Z Challenge.

Thank goodness for well written books with descriptions that paint a picture in my mind. I live vicariously through books.

I have walked along the banks of the Yangtze as it overflowed its banks due to the construction of the Three Gorges Dam in China.
20120424-213924.jpg

I have fulfilled my inner detective by solving a crime in a small Colorado town — while learning some great recipes.
20120424-214102.jpg

I have walked a lifetime in the shoes of a young woman who carefully, but oh so bravely, remained in a town and culture that placed little value on her life And she not only survived, but made life better for her family and others.
20120424-214321.jpg

Thank goodness for vicarious living, otherwise I would be bored spitless!

By the way, yes, I did have lemon meringue pie for my birthday.

Comments on: "V is for Vicarious Living" (8)

  1. I wouldn’t have a life if I didn’t live through the books I read–mostly about other peoples’ lives!

  2. I can’t believe I didn’t think to ask about the pie!

    I think I’ve become a fan of memoirs due to the ability to vicariously live another life. Or maybe it’s just to feel better about mine. Hmmm….

  3. I love your book posts!

    River Town is on my to-read list.

  4. When I want to relax,,Diane Mott Davidson is one of my “go to” authors 🙂

    • Love Goldy! I also like to read Janet Evanovich for lots of laughs.

      • OHHHHHHHH!! I just LOVE those..my number one “go to book” for laughs…not many books make me laugh out loud, but those always do…I couldn’t go see the movie..I was afraid it would be disappointing, and I didn’t want the books ruined for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

