Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

R is for Reading

This post is part of the A-to-Z Challenge.

Every night I read before going to bed. And on weekends, I often just sit around and also read, especially if there is a good book at hand.

Murder mysteries and biographies are my favorite genres. I used to read nothing but murder and true crime books. After jumping at any little sound, I decided I was getting too involved in true crime. Now I temper my fanaticism with little doses of comedy and non-crime books, especially biographies.

Robert B Parker is the author of the Spencer series, the Jesse Stone series, and the less known Sunny Randall series.

20120419-204619.jpg

A few years ago, I and a friend went on a Spenser readfest where we read every Spenser book- 38 of them – in order! And then went into the Jesse Stone series.

20120419-205325.jpg

Be still my heart – Tom Selleck plays Jesse in the made-for-TV movies. And the latest one will premier on May 20th!

As for biographies, David McCullough is a favorite for his Truman and John Adams biographies. I also quite enjoyed Mornings on Horseback (about Theodore Roosevelt’s early years).

Recently I read Broken by Lauren Hilldebrand. An incredible book; read it if you can. Currently I am reading The Horse Boy by Rupert Isaacson. True story of a boy with autism and his family’s quest to connect with him.

For lighter laugh-a-minute reading, I highly recommend Janet Evanovich, Diane Mott Davidson, or David Sedaris.

Peter Hessler has written several books about his experiences in China; they are priceless.

I could go on and on, but will stop so you can provide your recommendations.

Comments on: "R is for Reading" (6)

  1. I never heard of these authors, although I like a good mystery if it’s not too violent.

    Don’t be too jealous, but my Phil looks like Tom Selleck’s twin. I kid you not!

  2. Good! Another Jesse Stone movie! Tom Selleck is just one of those actors that’s gotten better as he’s gotten older. Did you ever see him as Eisenhower?

    We’re big fans of Janet Evanovich. I don’t think the movie did her justice.

  3. I read mysteries too, but I haven’t read the ones you mentioned here. Usually I read whatever my father has around, which is classic stuff like Nero Wolfe. I can see how reading true crime might make someone a little bit paranoid. I always begin and end my day with reading (and a kitty).

    • You might like the Spenser books then. I feel as if I know Spenser after reading the books and kind of seeing inside his life. Think I need to go back and read Nero Wolfe again.

Leave a Reply

