Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

M is for Musicals

This post is part of the A-to-Z Challenge.

There are some parts of my life that seem to be played out in various musicals. Although I can’t sing or dance, I do my best in the privacy of my own home (or car) to pretend I am on the stage. If you ever wonder why a Siamese cat yowls, it is probably because they heard me singing.

Anyway, back to my list of musicals and songs for life. There are so many that I am only listing a few; I could go on for days.

Dealing with a spoiled child who expects everything they want demand. How about singing “Whatever Lola Wants” from Damn Yankees.

Looking for an excuse to watch a musical? See “Magic to Do” from Pippin.

Need to sing a baby to sleep? Try “Edelweiss” from Sound of Music.

How about trying to cheer up someone? It has got to be “My Favorite Things” also from Sound of Music. I sang this to my daughter in the womb and for several years after too.

Waking up to a gorgeous morning and need to get in the mood to thoroughly enjoy it?  “Oh What a Beautiful Morning” from Oklahoma will set the stage.

And just for laughs, watch the “Song of the Kings” from Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat.

Drum roll please. Introducing my favorite because of the ROFL memories. One day a friend and I were having lunch at a local restaurant. We were talking about musicals. We both mentioned South Pacific and then one of us spoke (not sang) the first few words of “Honey Bun”. Apparently, it was a favorite for both of us. We started singing the entire song. We couldn’t stop ourselves. When we got done, we were laughing so hard that at first we didn’t notice the other patrons applauding. How embarrassing, but boy, was it fun.

And this is why I am a huge fan of Glee and Smash.

Comments on: "M is for Musicals" (2)

  1. There are so many wonderful musicals, you’re right! I watch Smash but have never seen Glee! I should take a look at it, huh?

    • I would recommend you at least try Glee. Lots of singing and some dancing as it is about high school show choir. One of the things I really like is their spin on different songs. It has opened up my ears to so many new artists. One example is Jay-Z’s “Empire State of Mind” – a rap song with Alicia Keys. I prefer the Glee version but do love the song. I have even gone so far as to download most of their CDs.

      Yup , I am a fan!

      TTFN Sandy

Leave a Reply

