Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

E is for Escherichia

This post is part of the A-to-Z Challenge.

Escherichia is the E. in E. coli. That nasty little bacteria that can kill people and businesses if they are caught up in its spread. But my love of the word is strictly audio. I enjoy saying and hearing the word Escherichia!

Let me start at the beginning. In college, I had a class where I learned about E. coli. Had to actually know what the E. was and how to spell it. The magic began when I first viewed little metallic-green colonies of E. coli in a petri dish. The color was spectacular and like nothing I had seen before.
20120404-194527.jpg

Thus the affair started.
After I learned to properly say the genus name, we were on a first name basis. I would always say the full genus species: Escherichia coli.

After college I worked as a microbiologist for a few years and we became closer. In 1976 we sealed our relationship when I tested well water for people flooded by the breaking of the Teton Dam. Wow, a lot of testing in a stressful situation, in a short period of time.

Our relationship was stretched beyond repair and I moved on to other interests. But to this day, Escherichia is still my favorite word to say.

Try it with me:
eh-sure-ree-she-uh
Come on now, say it again, a little bit faster now:
eh-sure-ree-she-uh
eh-sure-ree-she-uh

Don’t you love it?!

Comments on: "E is for Escherichia" (8)

  1. ModernMiner said:

    I too am a microbiologist by training (although I haven’t worked in the field for years). I remember most of my profs and TAs pronouncing it “eh-sure-ree-KEY-uh” vs. how you have it listed. I believe either is acceptable and since most people don’t know what it is anyway, one is bound to sound smart with either pronunciation. 🙂

  2. […] just for fun, who remembers how to say Escherichia? Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  3. LOL. I just said Escherichia five times in a row and my kitties think I’m crazy. It really is fun to say!

  4. I feel so much smarter knowing what the “E” in e-coli mean and, more importantly, being able to say it! Thanks!

  5. I know that’s a picture of bacteria but if could just as easily be dichroic glass for a a jewellery piece. Stunning colours from some nasty little critters!

  6. I work in a Micro lab and other parts of the lab as well! There are so many fun things to say.
    Peptostreptococcus. Porphoromonas. Burkholderia pseudomallei.
    Wheeeee!

    • Wahoo – someone who likes weird words too! Peptostrepto… Is great.
      But really — nothing beats Escherichia and that’s the truth!

Leave a Reply

