Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Madre Dearest

Who remembers the controversial “Mommie Dearest” book by Christina Crawford and the subsequent movie (same title) with Faye Dunaway?  Daughter and I just happened to watch the movie the other day. It brought on a few jokes and other stories semi-related to moms and daughters. (Certainly not talking about alleged abuse, nor making light of it at all.)

(courtesy of Wikipedia)

One discussion point was what the daughter called the mom: mommie dearest. So I suggested my daughter started calling me that too. She declined, but did admit she does have wire hangers. Anywho, what was actually discovered was that the majority of the time, my daughter calls me “madre.”

Yes, madre; the Spanish word for mother. Here’s my question: Why does a child who speaks English, French, Chinese, and Japanese, use a Spanish word? We both wondered the same thing, but it appears as if “madre” remains the nom de plume (got that French in there).

Let me back-track a bit. Daughter came into town for the weekend because she needed new glasses. She has had a sore, red eye recently and could not wear her contacts. Thus she decided to get her eyes checked, get new glasses, and see madre.  I took Friday off as a vacation day and we proceeded to run a bazillion errands. Naturally, things got a little side-tracked when I started having gastro issues, but that allowed us to stay home and watch “Mommie Dearest.”

After several hours, I felt better so the errands continued. We got her hair cut (new bangs), shopping for clothes and shoes, renewed her driver’s license,  appointment with ophthalmologist, and checking out potential new glass frames.  Slight problem occurred when daughter was diagnosed with keratitis; basically an eye infection — in both eyes.

New bangs and old glasses. かわいい

Her vision was blurry so she could not take an eye test for a new prescription. And now she has to use eye drops every 6 hours and come back in 2 weeks. That weekend is also Easter weekend. As part of daughter’s job, she is planning an Easter party for some of her students and fellow classmates. Thus, she will have to wait for 3 weeks until she comes back here for the ophthalmologist and new glasses. But hey – that means, she comes home again soon!!

A good time was had by all and we even threw in a couple of DVD rentals. Moneyball , Ides of March and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.  Relaxing, but we also got a lot done in a short period of time.  All that excitement should hold me until she returns in 3 weeks.

Comments on: "Madre Dearest" (3)

  1. As long as you have a close and loving relationship with your children, I suppose any name for “mother” in any language will do, right? 🙂

  2. My boys call me Madre, as well. They both studied Spanish in school, and I honestly don’t remember how or when it started…

    • As long as we are not called madre dearest, all is well. I kind of like master because I don’t hear it very often. So of I am in a group and here madre, it is usually for me. I tend to ignore ” mom” calls.

      TTFN Sandy

Leave a Reply

