Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

As Daughter is finishing her junior year at college, I have been thinking about down-sizing the house and only half-heartedly looking at smaller houses.

Imagine my joy at finding the original house I bought in 1992, and sold in 1999, back on the market.

20120205-193043.jpg

Took a quick tour of it today and it is still as charming as it was in 92. But it is an FHA foreclosure so it will probably go quick. Unfortunately, I am not ready to put my current house on the market.

Am looking at finances to see if I qualify for the 2nd house without selling my current house — for a couple of months anyway. FHA foreclosure will not carry a contingency on selling my current home.

At least I have enough equity in my current home to come out ahead, pay off my mortgage, and put a fair chunk on the new house. Timing is an issue though.

Oh, what to do?!? Will I be able to go home again?

Comments on: "Can You Go Home Again?" (6)

  1. Wow, that would be really sweet if it worked out. It’s an adorable little house.

  2. Nothing happens by random or dumb luck. I mean, what are the odds of this happening when you’re already thinking of down-sizing? I’d say explore all options!

  3. kateluthner79 said:

    maybe you can rent it for a year?

  4. It’s so cute! I hope you can work it out!

  5. Wow, what are the chances of finding your old house on the market again?! Did you really love it? Has to be worth at least looking into…

  6. Of course you can buy the same house twice. As for whether it will go before you get the chance, well if it does, it wasn’t meant to be and another opportunity awaits.

Leave a Reply

