Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Another tasty holiday tradition is making fruitcake. (Would everyone please stop sniggering about fruitcake! You haven’t had mine; it is not that hard-as-a-rock, candied fruit, fruitcake; it is oh so much better!)  I have considered changing the name to Christmas Cake or Holiday Cake because of the negativity of “fruitcake” but it seems like caving in. So I waffle between the names while trying to have a “your loss” attitude.

Years ago, I would dry my own fruit to use (apricots, plums, raisins), but I no longer do that.  I usually mix the dried fruit and nuts during the Thanksgiving holiday. That allows the brandy to soak into the fruit and nuts for several days; I add more brandy as the fruit soaks it up. This year I was running late so brandy soaking was just 72 hours and then I baked the little gems the other day. Instead of make large loaves, I make cupcake size and mini-cupcake size. And if I’m tired of baking, I also make mini-loaves. They all can be wrapped in Saran wrap, then wrapped again in foil, and frozen. I love thawing a little one in the middle of summer and think of Christmas.

Here’s some pictures of the process.

Dried fruit (apricots, dates, figs, currants, golden raisins, plums) and nuts (walnuts, pecans) soaking in brandy and molasses.

After soaking, add batter.

Mixed batter and fruit/nut combo in cupcake pan, before baking.

Final results (before wrapping) -- yum!!

These are soooooo gooooooood!!   But I need to come up with a name that won’t deter people from trying them.  Any ideas?  I’ll send whoever submits the best name a little bit of heaven (also known as my fruitcake)!  Let’s hear some suggestions.

Comments on: "Traditions – Fruitcake Christmas Cake?" (5)

  1. […] and discovered that December 27 was National Fruitcake Day.  And that was the same day I posted Traditions – Fruitcake Christmas Cake. Now I realize that fruitcake has a bad rap, but I swear mine is very very tasty.  Even the […]

  2. Happy New Year !! Thanks for following my words this year.

    Be Well in 2012
    Jo
    🙂

  3. It looks yummy indeed! I know my father would love it if I could make him something like this. I’ve never tried fruitcake.

  4. How about Yum cakes?….because they are very Yummy…

Leave a Reply

