Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Am taking a short one day break from Xmas traditions because tonight Daughter and I saw “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo” movie. We both have read Stieg Larsson’s Millenium trilogy and also have watched all three of the Swedish-made movies.

I admit I was a tad concerned whether an American-made movie could capture the essence of Lisbeth Salander. If you have or had the same concerns, fear not! Movie was spectacular! Rooney Mara brought home the bacon and she richly deserves all the awards she has been nominated for. And Daniel Craig was perfect for the part of Mikael. The way he carelessly dangled his glasses below his chin was such an unassuming gesture that was so not James Bond.

The movie was long; 2 hours, 40 minutes. Be sure to pee first as you don’t want to miss a second. And don’t be confused by the very beginning as it is quite strange. Just get through the opening credits and you will be in it.

Comments on: "Movie: “Girl With the Dragon Tattoo”" (7)

  1. It looks good! Would you recommend reading the books first before seeing the movie? I’ve been intending to read them but I haven’t yet.

    • Gosh – a difficult question. I personally prefer reading books first. Read the first one “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” and then see the movie. Then you can read the other 2 books in the trilogy. And watch the Swedish-made movies too if you are obsessed. Let me know what you think!!

      • Thank you for the advice! I usually prefer reading the book first. And since I don’t make it to the cinema often, I’m sure I can get through the first one well before the dvd comes out. I’ve been hearing people talk about these books for ages so it is about time I read them!

  2. I’ve been so busy I’ve been totally out of it so I know nothing of it. But I guess I should consider seeing it after your recommendation. Ho ho ho.

    • Yeah – grab Doug for a movie date night. You’ll like it — R rated but I think you can handle it. And a Ho Ho Ho to you too.

  3. Thanks for the recommendation. I didn’t know it was out. Now I know what I’m going to do one of these evenings VERY soon… (And good call on peeing before a 2 hour 40 minute movie!) 🙂

    I read all the books, too. Loved them!

Leave a Reply

