Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Bring it on, October!

Sprocket loves October. (photo courtesy of littlemiao.wordpress.com). I love this photo! It is how I feel about October; just waiting for it to bring it on! Check out The Miao Chronicles at http://littlemiao.wordpress.com.

October 1st is tomorrow. What the heck happened to September? personally, I love the month of October. The crisp fall air really invigorates me. I try to not wear a coat at all because I love that slight chill in the air.  And I still slip on those comfy Birkenstock sandals for as long as my toes don’t freeze. So what else is great about October?   The following topics are important to me because they are dear to my heart or have affected my life (or family or friends) in some aspect.

National Book Month.  Every month is book month for me. Well, every day is book month. Tomorrow I’m going book shopping online or to my online library. I need some non-fiction (biography or cultural) books to reads. Does anyone have a good recommendation?

Pizza Month. I must admit that I do love good pizza. I think I will have pizza every week in order to properly celebrate this occasion. My favorite pizza place is a little Greek/Italian restaurant. Their pizza dough is yummy; a little sweeter than regular pizza dough. And I get an Omega pizza with all sorts of toppings such as Canadian bacon, pepperoni, salami, sausage, pineapple, mushrooms, onions, artichoke, olives, garlic, peppers, and feta and mozzarella cheese.

National Dwarfism Awareness Month. The Little People of America (LPA), was organized in 1957 and is “dedicated to improving the quality of life for people with dwarfism throughout their lives while celebrating with great pride Little People’s contribution to social diversity. In July 2009, the LPA started a campaign to stop the use of the term midget.” Don’t apply a label, use the person’s name!

National Sarcastic Awareness Month.  I think this video says it all.

It is also

  • Pear and Pineapple Month
  • Rhubarb Month
  • Spinach Month
  • Vegetarian Month
  • Squirrel Awareness Month

I plan a trip to the grocery store tomorrow and plan on getting some of each to snack on. WAIT!!  I won’t be getting any squirrels; twas a slip of the mouse.

Comments on: "Bring it on, October!" (5)

  1. Squirrel awareness month? I love it. I also love October.

  2. Squirrel awareness month – I love that! Squirrels are definitely busy in October.

    Here are some Sprocket *purrs* for you. So glad you enjoyed his photo. 🙂

  3. Lots going on in October to be sure

  4. Wait…wait..it’s Pizza Month AND Dwarfism Awareness Month? I don’t think I have enough outfits to celebrate!

  5. The public service announcement was priceless. I’m all about the sarcasm…

    I guess I’ll be doing some celebrating as well – so many fine thing, including spinach!!!

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

