Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Getting Back on Track

My original purpose for the MsMouseCleansHouse blog was to create some sort of tracking and accountability for certain aspects of my life. One part was cleaning up the house and getting back to some sort of organization. I was doing OK when I started, and then Daughter came home for a month.

For whatever reason, that seemed to derail me. But she has been back at school for a week and I am rip-roaring, ready to tackle the house again. WAHOO for me!

One thing I did over the weekend was to get her room back into a livable condition. I even started sleeping in her bedroom as it is much cooler downstairs. And I have started working on the sewing room. That’s going to be a huge chore.

I seem to have a fear of starting a task that seems too big. I need to just jump into it without thinking about it and deal with little steps. Unfortunately, I do this a lot. If I can’t finish something, I have trouble starting it.

Example: I use a lawn service for my yard which is too big for me to mow it myself (since I’m old and decrepid, and don’t function in the heat). Once a month I gather their invoices and pay them. However, lately I have gotten into this delay mode, and get around to paying them a week later. But then I have another invoice so it’s another delay., This has gone on for two months, until I was sent an itemized bill. I paid it ASAP and now am feeling guilty for my lack of action. It was a kind of eye-opener for me.

Thus, I’m back on track. Here are my goals for this week.

  • Declutter the kitchen.
  • Fold and put away the laundry.
  • Reorganize the bookshelves.
  • Order the new hardware for the upstairs bathroom.

There — that should keep me busy for a few days. I’m not putting a lot on this week as I’m quite swamped at work and putting in some extra hours.

By the way, I am supporting National Chocolate Milk Shake Day while writing this. Yummmm…

Comments on: "Getting Back on Track" (6)

  1. It’s all a matter of perspective, msmouse. You didn’t let things drop, you took a much-deserved vacation.
    What’s been achieved, has been achieved. You’ve developed your skills and once you’re back into the habits, you’ll find them not only easier, but easier to WANT to do them.

    Keep up the good work.

    • You are so supportive, I do thank you. And taking a well-deserved vacation sounds so good. I’m getting closer to embroidery!

  2. I admire your ambition, or at least your intended ambition. I have a great many intentions, too. 😉

  3. You’re drinking a choc shake? I am sooo jealous.

Leave a Reply

